Agenda

Digital seminar on EU production standards for agri-food products

8 October 2020

Brussels

9:00 - 9:30

Vietnam

14:00 - 14:30

Welcome and official opening
  • H.E. Giorgio Aliberti Ambassador, Head of the Delegation of the European Union to Vietnam
  • Mr John Clarke (Director, International Relations, Directorate General for Agriculture and Rural Development, European Commission)

Brussels

9:30 - 10:30

Vietnam

14:30 - 15:30

Introductory presentation: Benefits of the Trade agreement between the EU and Vietnam: Focus on agri-food sector
  • Presentation by Mr Ngo Chung Khanh (Deputy Director General of Department of Multilateral Trade Policy)
  • Presentation by Ms Mariella Cantagalli (Directorate General for Trade, European Commission)
Short discussion with Questions & Answers from the public
  • Chairman: Mr John Clarke (Director, International Relations, Directorate General for Agriculture and Rural Development, European Commission)
  • Mr Ngo Chung Khanh (Deputy Director General of Department of Multilateral Trade Policy)
  • Ms Mariella Cantagalli (Directorate General for Trade, European Commission)

Brussels

10:30 - 11:30

Vietnam

15:30 - 16:30

General presentation on EU food safety and quality system

Questions & Answers from the public on presentations available on the eLearning platform

Chairman: Mr Sergio Pavon (Directorate General for Agriculture and Rural Development, European Commission)

Topics covered:
  • Overview of EU Legislative Framework on Food Safety, Animal Health and Plant Health (Mr Patrick Deboyser, European College of Parma)
  • Food traceability in the EU: How the EU ensures that food produced in Europe is safe and can be traced back – RASFF – TRACES (Mr Patrick Deboyser, European College of Parma)
  • The EU as a single entity for international trade (Mr Francisco Tristante, Directorate General for Trade, European Commission)
  • EU legislation on food information to consumers: labelling, nutrition declaration, nutrition and health claims (Mr Patrick Deboyser, European College of Parma)

Brussels

11:30 - 12:00

Vietnam

16:30 - 17:00

Break


Brussels

12:00 - 12:45

Vietnam

17:00 - 17:45

Questions & answers from the participants on presentations available on the eLearning eLearning platform
– in parallel virtual rooms:
Room 1: Animals and animal products. Free movement of animals and animal products within the EU: How the EU ensures safe and sustainable trade of animals and animal products?
Topics covered:
  • Animal identification, traceability and animal welfare (Mr Sergio Pavon, Directorate General for Agriculture and Rural Development, European Commission)
  • Prelisting of agri-food export establishments (Mr Francisco Tristante, Directorate General for Trade, European Commission)
  • Official controls on animals and animal products in the EU - Import requirements and controls at entry in the EU for products imported from non-EU countries (Ms Sylvie Coulon, Directorate General for Health and Food Safety, European Commission)
  • How the EU is tackling the global challenge of antimicrobial resistance – AMR (Ms S. Coulon, Directorate General for Health and Food Safety, European Commission)
Room 2: Plants and plant products: Free movement of plants and plant products within the EU: How the EU ensures the safe and sustainable trade of plants and plant products?
Topics covered:
  • The EU Phytosanitary system and the Plant Health Law (Mr Alejandro Lorca, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food, Spain)
  • EU management of pesticides and contaminants (Ms Sylvie Coulon, Directorate General for Health and Food Safety, European Commission)
  • Official controls of plants and plant products in the EU - Import requirements and controls at entry in the EU for products imported from non-EU countries (Mr Patrick Deboyser, European College of Parma)
Room 3: Geographical Indications - opportunities for International Trade.

Mr Nuno Vicente (Directorate General for Agriculture and Rural Development, European Commission)

Room 4: Organic farming-opportunities for international trade.

Ms Elena Panichi (Directorate General for Agriculture and Rural Development, European Commission)

9 October 2020

Brussels

9:00 - 10:30

Vietnam

14:00 - 15:30

PRODUCT-ORIENTED SESSIONS (in parallel rooms) on EU sanitary, technical and quality standards in different sectors
Room 1: Milk and dairy products

Mr Alexander Anton European Dairy Association

Room 2: Wines, spirits and beers

Mr Ignacio Sanchez Recarte (CEEV)

Mr Ulrich Adam (Spirits Europe)

Room 3: Animal products: bovine meat, sheep and goat meat, pork and poultry meat, processed meat products.

Ms Birthe Steenberg (AVEC)

Mr Paolo Patruno (CLITRAVI)

Mr Karsten Maier (UECBV)

Room 4: Fruits and vegetables/ Olive oil and vegetable fats

Mr Philippe Binard Freshfel Europe

Ms Teresa Perez-Millan Interolivera Spain


Brussels

10:30 - 10:45

Vietnam

15:30 - 15:45

Concluding remarks by His Excellency Mr Giorgio Aliberti, EU Ambassador to Vietnam (tbc)